A Fair in the Fall

This is my first fall living in Texas.  I am just beginning to see what fall looks like here.  But, I have found in Dallas it means the Texas State Fair.  And, the fair means lots of fried food.  Aaron and I split pretty much everything so it wasn’t too overloading from moment to moment, but I was beyond full at the end of the day.  My favorite food of the day was chicken fried bacon.  I fully expected it to be gross since I’m not a fan of crispy bacon, but I loved it!

So far I been having a lot of fun with my holiday mini sets.  And, there are lots of great options for fall, halloween, and thanksgiving in the mini.  Here’s a mini basket I made to celebrate the season.

(all images copyrighted at Stampin’ Up)

Stamp Set: Happy Blessings

Paper: Tangerine Tango, Pumpkin Pie, Always Artichoke, Bella Rose DSP

Ink: Tangerine Tango

Other: Stampin Dimensional, Crop-a-dile, Riding Hood Red taffeta ribbon, Chocolate Chip taffeta ribbon, paper crimper, big shot scallop envelop die, 1 3/8 circle punch, 1 1/4 circle punch

This little box was so much fun to make.  The scallop envelop big shot die doesn’t just make a cute envelope.  It also makes a very adorable little box.  I cut out four envelopes, and adhered them together.  I then cut two strips of Bella Rose DSP, and put them around the box.  Then I used sticky tape to hold the scallop edge down.  I then cut out the pumpkin and layered it with Always Artichoke using the two circle punches.  Then I punched a hole in each side of the box using my crop-a-dile, and threaded through a strip of the two ribbons.  Instead of using two strips of chocolate chip ribbon I cut one in half.  I then braided the ribbons, and used sticky tape to attach it back to the box.  I loved the texture and color difference that it created.  Finally, I cut strips of Pumpkin Pie cardstock, and put it through my paper crimper.  I then sponged the crimped strips with Riding Hood Red ink, and placed them in the box.  And, of course I added the gift my hostess will receive this weekend.

Leave a Reply

