Monkeying Around

So, I’ve been doing lots of stamping, but giving away cards and scrapbook pages before taking pictures of them. But, I stole this card off our mantel after his birthday managed to get a picture of this birthday card for my husband. I know not everyone likes the sock monkey, but I love him! He’s great for paper piercing and coloring in.

(all images copyrighted at Stampin’ Up)

Stamp Set: Sock Monkey

Ink: Brown Staz on

Paper: Bella Rose DSP, Not quite navy, riding hood red, confetti cream

Other: SU markers- old olive, always artichoke, kiwi kiss, not quite navy, close to cocoa, chocolate chip

Chocolate Chip Twill, brown journaler, slit punch

This card is a classic example of just add one more thing. I started by coloring the monkey, and kept going outside the line so I decided to blend the color in the background to give it a kind of older appearance. Well then the not quite navy screamed for distressing so I took my thumbnail to the edges (really need to get the distressing tool). Even that didn’t seem to be enough so I added some faux stiching on the not quite navy. And, finally I sponged on some staz on brown to the edge of the confetti cream. When it still wasn’t fitting I thought it would look better with the ticket corner edge so since I don’t have that punch I used my slit punch to get the same effect. Finally, it looked right! The same thing happened to the card base. I place the Bella Rose DSP onto riding hood red, but it wasn’t quite right so I added the chocolate chip twill. It was perfection, but who knew a boys card could be so fussy?

Leave a Reply

