Mistakes are a girl’s best friend

So, I am still busy scrapbooking, but this time for my nephew and godson. I am making him a 6×6 album for his first birthday. I know not every scrapper does them, but I love title pages in my scrapbooks. And, this one I made without a single picture.

austintitle.jpg

Recipe:
stamp set: Word on Word, Nursery Necessities
paper: bashful blue, very vanilla, barely banana, and wild wasabi textured
ink: real red craft, fashful blue craft, handsome hunter craft
extras: large star punch, slit punch, sponge daubers
(all images © Stampin’ Up)

I started this design knowing I wanted to use my hostess set, Word on Word, from last fall and make a scallop with the slit punch. I decided to combine the two into the title for this page. The title of this post begins right there. I mount the paper to my page, and I find that I had a smudge of red in the corner so I stamped the small star in each corner, which I think adds more visual interest to the page. Without the mistake I may have missed the opportunity to add something a little extra. My mistakes continued as I carefully punched each star, and inked a letter from the Nursery Letters wheel, and stamped it on to each star. I got each individual letter to stamp by putting masking tape on the area around it and just putting ink on the letter I wanted. But, I must have had a pit of residue on the stamp, because I had a slight watermark of the other letters on my page. I fixed that by sponging (with a sponge dauber) bashful blue craft ink around the star. I didn’t think to do that until I was trying to get rid of the smudge, and it added so much to the page.

And, one more mistake increased my creativity. I went to place the stars on the page, and found they didn’t fit! I had taken all that time and for nothing. Then I thought to line the stars up and overlap them, and cut off the edges of the a and the n. It worked oh so perfectly, and gave me the space to put the little elephants on the bottom of the page.

This page looks nothing like I had originally planned, but I love it so much more. You can earn Nursery Necessities for free by hosting a qualifying workshop in January.

Leave a Reply

