Happy New Year!

And, thus begins the start of 2008. I managed to stay up till midnight, and soon after fell fast to sleep. I hope everyone had a pleasant night ringing in the new year.

So what are your stamping resolutions for 2008? Here are mine:

1. Stamp more: One, because you can always find more time to stamp, and because there are so many new goodies in the Spring/Summer catty to play with. I’m also making my own wedding invitations so I’m going to have to stamp more to get them done. What a sacrifice πŸ˜‰

2. Scrapbook more: Over the next few days I will be making a 6×6 scrapbook for my nephew’s birthday. I also want to continue working on my fiance’s scrapbook, and at some point scrapbook my family’s vacation though the southwest last summer. And, I want to scrap more, because I’ve become addicted to stamping in my scrapbooks. It really allows my scrapbook pages to be one of a kind.

3. Submit to SU contests and publications: One of the reasons I love being a demo with SU is because, they recognize how talented their demonstrators are and they like to show off our work (or should I say play). One way to get your cards recognized as a demo is send in to their monthly contests. Along with bragging rights, you get three free stamp sets if you win! I also want to send my cards to different magazines for publication.

4. Keep my stamping area in organized chaos: I know that doesn’t make sense, but I’d be lying if I said my goal was to have a perfectly clean stamping area. I’m just not that kind of stamper. By the time I’m done stampin my table looks like something has exploded. But, I would like to commit to cleaning up my area each time I finish a card as opposed to letting it stay messy until the next time I go to stamp.

5. Try new things: I really want to take advantage of the tutorials and challenges on splitcoast stampers this year. Learning new things allows me not only to have more fun, but it gives me more techniques to show my fellow stampers. Sketch challenges especially help me broaden my own creativity, and get me thinking out of my own stamping box.

And, lest the New Year start without a newly stamped example here is a page from my fiance’s scrapbook:

zoo-page.jpg

Recipe:

Stamps: Wild West Alphabet, Zoofari
Paper: Cutie Pie, Certainly Celery, Whisper White
Ink: Bashful Blue Craft, Always Artichoke Craft, Chocolate Chip Craft, Black Staz On
(all images © Stampin’ Up)

This page features one of my favorite (at least until I get my hands on all the new designer series papers πŸ˜‰ ) designer series papers, Cutie Pie. The piece of dsp helped me formulate this layout. I wanted the border on the bottom with the title and the journal box, and when I saw my pictures I thought it would be cute to line up my fiance’s picture amongst the zoo animals. I cut the pictures so that they all fit in line together. For the title I punched out cicles, and stamped the letters with the Wild West Alphabet. I love this alphabet! I then took a few of my animals in the Zoofari set, and stamped them along the border and corner of my journal box. And, in just a few minutes I had a fun scrapbook page.

I hope one of your New Year’s Resolutions is turn earn lots of free stamps sets from SU. If it is talk to me about hosting a workshop in Jan. and Feb. to earn free sets!

Leave a Reply

