More fun with Nursery Necessities

A friend of mine and my fiance’s cousin are both having babies so I’ve been having fun making baby cards for them. I’m quickly falling far the Nursery Necessities set I received in my spring catalog preorder. It is such a fun set to play with, and could easily be used for more than just baby cards. The boat, for example, fits in great with Stampin’ Up’s Crew Classic style watch that will be featured in the new catalog.

starbabycard.jpg

Recipe:
Stamp Sets: Bundle of Joy, Nursery Necessities
Ink: Versa Mark, Regal Rose, Lovely Lilac
Paper: Regal Rose, Very Vanilla, Lovely Lilac
Extras: Sponge daubers, Stampin’ dimensionals, large star punch
(all images © Stampin’ Up)

I created the first layer with regal rose cardstock, and gave it a background with the small star from the nursery necessities stamp set in versamark ink. I then cut out an additional layer in lovely lilac, and stamped the sweet heart stamp from Bundle of Joy and the little star again in versamark. I placed the greeting for the card in the lower right corner in black, and used my sponge daubers to create more visual interest to the card by sponging on some lovely lilac around the edge of that layer. Finally I stamped the star letter stamp onto very vanilla paper, punched in out with the large star punch, and mounted it to the cards with a stampin’ dimensional. I chose to pop the star up, because I thought the card would look too flat without it. You could add even more dimension to the card by adding addtional punched stars (maybe in lovely lilac?) to the regal rose layer. If I were making this for a boy baby I would probably use brillant blue, real read, and yo-yo yellow.

I’m having so much fun playing with all the new catty stamp sets I preordered, and from the looks of the new catty I’m going to be ordering plenty of stamps in the new year as well.

Leave a Reply

