A Simple Card for a Simple Stamp

I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas. Mine was busy, but lots of fun as it was my first with my fiance. Of course, now I’m ready for the new year and the new SU catalog. I’ve been pouring though my demo copy, and am absolutely in love with it.

I made a card using another one of the amazing stamp sets I received through my demonstrator preorder. It features the darling doodle birdies that have become so popular amongst stampers. I wanted the card to be simple and play up the child like fun of this simple stamp.

littlebirdiecard.jpg

Recipe:
Stamp Sets: A Little Birdie Told Me, Nursery Necessities
Paper: Bashful Blue, Regal Rose, Very Vanilla
Ink: Black Staz On, Versamark
Extras: SU watercolor crayons bold brights
(all images © Stampin’ Up)

I discovered this color combo while making a baby card for my friend. Her nursery is the most adorable combo of blue and pink, and I felt the regal rose was the closest match to the pink in her nursery. And, I felt the bashful blue and regal rose was such a beautiful combo that I keep using it. I stamped my blue cardstock with the small star from the nursery necessities set in versamark. The star is just the right size to make backgrounds with. I then stamped the birdie on very vanilla paper, and stamped the birdie in black staz on. Because, I wanted to keep with the child like quality of this stamp set I used the watercolor crayons, and used more than one color of crayon to fill in the bird. Instead of flawlessly blending the colors together, I made the line between the colors a little more clear to look more child like. I found it more interesting visually to offset the very vanilla against the regal rose. It also seemed to give the image more movement as it looks like the bird is moving up as opposed to just stuck in place.

This card was oh so simple to make and lots of fun. You can earn this set for free by hosting a qualifying workshop in the month of January.

Leave a Reply

