Will you be my Valentine?

Amongst my preview stamps was Happy Heart Day an adorable Valentine set. It’s a great set for scrapbooks and little kid Valentines (or a card to an adult recalling the old valentine swapping days).

Here’s the card I made:

valintine.jpg

Recipe:
Stamp Set: Happy Heart Day
Ink: Black Staz On, Versamark
Paper: Real Red, Regal Rose
Extras: Rose Red Designer Series Paper, Build-a-brad, SU watercolor paper, Crystal Effects
(all images © Stampin Up)

I had so much fun coloring in this little guy. I used my SU watercolor paper, which I am quickly getting addicted to, and colored it in with the following SU markers: Rose Red, Pretty in Pink, Real Red, Bordering Blue, Ballet Blue. I stamped a small flower and heart stamp from the set with versamark on the Real Red cardstock. I then used the build-a-brad to decorate the corner of that layer. This was the first time I’ve ever tried the build-a-brad. I love them! They are a super easy way to make an unique embellishment. I punched out a half-inch circle with the SU circle punch, adhered it with crystal effects, and placed the clear bubble on top. I thought it added a little pop to the card.

You can earn this set, or one of the others from the preview brochure, for free by holding a qualifying workshop in January.

A side note: Did you know St. Valentine was a priest? He was killed, because he refused to stop preforming christian marriages. What a heroic priest! He died so that the sacrament of marriage could continue. So maybe you could send your priest or minister a card this Valentine’s Day, and let them know how much your appreciate their service to God and to you.

I’m heading down to Texas tomorrow to see my fiance! Needless to say I’m going to be a busy bee having tons of fun so I might not be able to post for a few days. Enjoy your Christmas, and enjoy celebrating Our Savior’s birth with your friends and family.

3 thoughts on “Will you be my Valentine?

Leave a Reply

