A Glimpse of Spring

No, not out my window, but with my stamps. I received my preorder from the Spring/Summer SU catty. Getting to play with the stamps before the catalog comes out is just one of the benefits of being a demonstrator.

Here is a card I made using the beautiful Embrace Life set:

embracelifecard.jpg

Recipe:
Stamp Set- Embrace Life
Paper- Regal Rose, Rose Red, SU watercolor paper
Ink- Black Staz On
Extras: SU brads, sponge dauber, aquapainter, cropadile
(all images © Stampin Up)

This flower set just screamed for color so I took out my markers, aquapainter, and watercolor paper. First I stamped the large flower onto the watercolor paper. I then masked it by cutting out a piece of scrap paper in its shape, and placed it over the image. I then inked up the smaller flower stamp, and stamped it on both sides of the flower so that it appears to be one large stamp. Masking is a great way to get a variety of looks from just a few stamps. I then colored in the image with the following SU markers: Pretty in Pink, Regal Rose, Rose Red, Summer Sun, Garden Green. I then took my sponge dauber and added Regal Rose ink to the edge of the watercolor paper to add dimension without adding another paper layer.

Now, my first temptation was to mount the watercolor paper in the center and call it a day, but instead I place it to the side, and added some SU brads for visual interest. I marked, with a pencil, where I wanted my holes to be, and then used the small hole punch on the cropadile to punch them out. Finally, I added the Embrace Life sentiment at the bottom of the card in Black Staz On.

2 thoughts on “A Glimpse of Spring

Leave a Reply

