Wedding Card

I made this card for my fiance’s parents, and gave it to them on their anniversary. I had so much fun making it, and got to use lots of fun stamping toys.

cherishwedding.jpg

Recipe:
Stamp- Fairy-tale Wedding, Baroque Motifs
Paper- Designer Series Paper from old Sellabration kit, Pretty in Pink, Certainly Celery, Pale Plum
Ink: Certainly Celery, Basic Black
Extras: Soft Subtles Watercolor Crayons, Hodgepodge Hardware, Paper Crimper, Priceless Classy Brass Template, Apricot Appeal Grosgrain Ribbon, Stampin Dimensionals
(all images © Stampin’ Up)

This card was so fun to make. It was all about layers. I started by using my trusty light table (yep there are still some of die hards that don’t use Cuttlebug) to make my heart cardstock. If you don’t have the Empressor Stylus I would recommend you get it as it makes dry embossing so much easier. I then put my strip of Certainly Celery through the paper crimper, added a smaller layer of pale plum, and then used the apricot appeal to attach the hodgepodge hardware in antique brass to the card. The cherish was stamped on whisper white paper. To continue the layering idea I started by using the large stamp from the baroque motif set, and applied it to the whisper white in certainly celery. Putting a lighter color under a darker word or image is just one way to create texture without adding paper.
And, finally I stamped the flowers from the fairy tale wedding set onto whisper white, colored it with the watercolor crayons (so I could have layers of different colors), and mounted onto designer series paper. I then applied the image to the pretty in pink card stock with a stampin dimensional to finish off the layered look.

I think the overall effect was very pretty and delicate despite layer after layer of stamping fun. On the inside I posted the message from the fairytale wedding set: And, they lived happily ever after. I thought that was the perfect sentiment to celebrate such a wonderful marriage.

Leave a Reply

