Keep It Simple

I know the trend right now in cards tends to be more is more, but this can be overwhelming to any stamper, especially new stampers. But, a card doesn’t have to have to tons of embellishments to be pretty. So, when you are feeling overwhelmed remember to keep it simple.

Here is a birthday card I made with that idea in mind:
eatcakebdaycard.jpg

Recipe:
Stamp Set: Eat Cake
Ink: Taken With Teal, Gable Green
Paper: Whisper White, Gable Green, Taken With Teal
Extras: SU button, SU markers
(all images © Stampin’ Up)

Instead, of sifting through designer series paper I made my own using my versamark pad. I took the confetti stamp and stamped all along the Taken With Teal adding texture and visual appeal without lots of extras. I also added more interest by using different colors on the cake. I inked one half of the cake in taken with teal and one half with gable green. Now, how did I get each of the candles a different color? I colored directly on the stamp with my SU markers, breathed on the stamp to moisten the ink, and stamped onto the paper. I then backed the image onto gable green paper, but I wanted one last detail to the card. So I took one single button, and placed it around the card until I found the spot that “fit”. Finally, I used a rock n’ roll technique to stamp that happy birthday onto the card. I first inked the stamp in gable green, and then rocked it slightly with the taken with teal. When using the rock n’ roll technique always start with the lightest color first.

Leave a Reply

