Why I started stamping

Each Christmas I’m reminded of why I started stamping in the first place. Four years ago, I was on my usual quest to find a christian Christmas card that was elegant, modern, and something I was proud to send my family and friends. And, as usual the search was getting harder every year. It seems like the nativity cards were always the same, boring, and old fashioned, in a negative way. I decided to make my cards certain that I could produce something nicer then what was being marketed to me. Years later, I’m addicted to stamping and still making my own Christmas cards.

This is just one of the Christmas cards that I will be sending out this year:
christmascard2007.jpg

Recipe:
Stamps- Holy Triptych, City of David
Ink- Purely Pomegranate, Not Quite Navy, Night of Navy, River Rock, Summer Sun
Paper- Purely Pomegranate, Blue Bayou, Chocolate Chip, Confetti Cream
Extras: Blender Pen
(all images © Stampin’ Up)

For this year’s main card I chose the Holy Triptych set from SU’s mini catalog. The set includes the Holy Family featured on this card, the three kings, and an angel as well as some extra stamps. I loved the look of this stamp set immediately. It called to mind stained glass windows, and the beauty included in traditional churches. I wanted the Holy Family to have a soft look so I used my ink pads and a blender pen to create a watercolor effect. I also love including scripture in my Christmas cards so I was happy to see that the City of David had a biblical quote in a fresh font. I kept the background plain, because I wanted the focus to be on the Holy Family and the words of scripture.

Four years later, I am so happy that I got into stamping. Not only do I get to send my friends and family very personal Christmas cards, but I can send them wonderful cards all year long. I can also use my stamps to create presents for those special to me and scrapbook my memories of important events.

2 thoughts on “Why I started stamping

Leave a Reply

